| Home


Every farm holiday in a city » GO >


Subscribe now GO >

Search a farm holiday


There are 48 farms at the moment
Choose a province Back


Property Facilities


Products selling


Room Facilities





Holiday Apartments

Country House




Map of Farm houses in Aosta Valley


Information on Aosta Valley


115.938 abitanti




To the north with Switzerland, to the east and south with Piemonte, and west with France.


Agriculture in Valle D'Aosta, because of the unfortunate high altitude of the area, is not particularly prosperous; however some of its resources have been put to the good use, and have become quite important. The natural resources especially cattle breeding (from which we have wood to work and wood to burn); a great deal of this last product is even exported to other Italian regions. Some valuable produces of not particularly remarkable, are rye, corn, patatoe apple pear and grape.


Vast glaciers, fabulous snow fields, wide forests, rushing torrents, make Valle D'Aosta one of the most picturesque Italian region. It is famous for the highest peaks of Europe: Mount Bianco (4.810 m), Mount Rosa (4.633 m), Cervino (4.478 m) and Gran Paradiso(4.061 m). These numerous mountain chains are interrupted by the broadest valleys, one of which should be remembered, is of the ice age crossed by the Dora Baltea, the longest river of this region and the major northern tributary of the Po'. The climate of this region, is cold and umid, especially above 2000 metres. The wintertime is long, umid and very cold with frequent heavy snowfalls , whereas the summer is short, cool but with frequent rainfalls. Obviously vegetation is typical of the mountain enviroment, in the valley there are forests of birch, oak and beech trees, whereas above 1000 metres we find larch, pine and fir trees, wherever there are vast areas of grass under cultivation and open fields. Characteristic plants of the region are gentian and valerian and above all, the rare alpine star blooms here. One of the greatest attractions of the region is the Parco Nazionale (the National Park) of the Gran Paradiso (the Great Paradise). The latter was made in 1922 and it is located between Piemonte and Valle D'Aosta, it has districts and is crossed by five valleys. Beautiful example of ibex, chamois, otter, marmot, ermine, veasel live in the park, whereas we find the wonderful royal eagle and many hawks among the birds. Of course with this fauna there is a fabulous flora. It shoul be said that Valle D'Aosta boasts the longest tunnel in the world, which is that of Mount Bianco, and another important road tunnel is the tunnel of Gran San Bernardo. Topography: Mountain 100%


Tourism is surely the reachest source of Valle D'Aosta, in fact,the high mountain chains and the broadest valleys are the centre of the attraction for many skiers, alpinists or simple holiday makers, who enjoy the meravellous natural panorama. Hydroelectric power plants are the most important industries of the region, whereas the metallurgical and chemincal industries are decrising. Thanks to the large quantity of forests,there are many factories too, which work various types of wood, even if they are not well developed yet. It remains to be said that Valle D'Aosta is the region with the lowest unemployement rate in Italy, and this is due to the highly developed services sector, (as has already been said in the first paragraph), tourism.


The capital and the only real city of Valle D'Aosta is Aosta, founded in the era of the Roman Emperor Augustus (I century B.C.). Even today it preserves the typical Roman monuments, such as "Porta Praetoria" "Praetoria Gate" and the majesic "Arco di Augusto" "Arch of Augustus", as well as the various wonderful theatres, amphitheatres temples and the Medieval buildings. Thanks to these ancient works and the well equiped skiing resorts Aosta attracts a lot of tourists, holiday makers from all over Italy and Switzerland. Tourist lacalities: Courmayeur, Cogne,and La Thuile are famous mountain centres, which attracts many tourists,and lovers.of winter sports.


The most famous person in Valle D'Aosta is Sant'Anselmo (Saint Anselm), born in Aosta in 1033. Archdeacon of Canterbury, took to England the policy of Pope Gregory VII, who definitely wanted to assert the church power. Saint Anselm wrote some theological works before dying at Canterbury in 1109. The patron of the Alpinists, San Bernardo di Mentone (Saint Bernard), Archdeacon of the Cathedral, founded charitable institutions on the Piccolo and Gran San Bernardo (Small and Great St.Bernard), the only shelter for mountain climbers, making for covers from snowstones and falls.


The first inhabitants of Valle D'Aosta were the Salassi, people of Ligurian origin, who in the II century B.C. fought against the Romans: after a wearying defence, the Salassi had to capitolated in 23 B.C. Therefore the region became part of the Roman Empire; after its decline (476 A.D.), Valle D'Aosta was dominated for five centuries by the Burgundians, a people from France. When the last king of Borgogna died in 1032, the Kingdom of the Italian region passed to the House of Savoia, thanks to the help of deputy Umberto Biancomano of Savoia, in 1861 it became part of the new Italian Kingdom. Since February 1948, Valle D'Aosta has been a self governing region, a region with its own particular constitution.

Agrigento | Alessandria | Ancona | Aosta | Arezzo | Ascoli Piceno | Asti | Avellino | Bari | Belluno | Benevento | Bergamo | Biella | Bologna | Bolzano | Brescia | Brindisi | Cagliari | Caltanissetta | Campobasso | Carbonia - Iglesias | Caserta | Catania | Catanzaro | Chieti | Como | Cosenza | Cremona | Crotone | Cuneo | Enna | Ferrara | Florence | Foggia | Forlì - Cesena | Frosinone | Genoa | Grosseto | Imperia | Isernia | La Spezia | L'Aquila | Latina | Lecce | Lecco | Livorno | Lodi | Lucca | Macerata | Mantova | Massa - Carrara | Matera | Medio - Campidano | Messina | Milan | Modena | Naples | Novara | Nuoro | Ogliastra | Olbia - Tempio | Oristano | Padua | Palermo | Parma | Pavia | Perugia | Pesaro and Urbino | Pescara | Piacenza | Pisa | Pistoia | Pordenone | Potenza | Prato | Ragusa | Ravenna | Reggio Calabria | Reggio Emilia | Rieti | Rimini | Rome | Rovigo | Salerno | Sassari | Savona | Siena | Sondrio | Syracuse | Taranto | Teramo | Terni | Trapani | Trento | Treviso | Trieste | Turin | Udine | Varese | Venice | Verbano-Cusio-Ossola | Vercelli | Verona | Vibo Valentia | Vicenza | Viterbo |